Originally the brainchild of Joe Holdsworth of the Wrexham Society of Model Engineers, the idea was to give the little engines of the narrow gauge railways a chance to show their paces on their own turf, without being overshadowed by the big stuff, as they tend to be at the long established International Model Locomotive Efficiency Competition.  The competition rules have evolved over the years and are now pretty much in line with the mainstream IMLEC rules. The main difference is that the load comprises the driver's choice of loaded loose-coupled slate trucks, rather than the more usual passenger trucks, and the speed limit is 5mph, both making for some challenging driving. This must be hauled around the track by the competing locomotive for half an hour, as in IMLEC.  The work done, or 'output’, is measured by a dynamometer car, and the coal used is measured and converted into potential energy 'input'. The efficiency of the engine is then calculated by dividing 'output' by 'input' and converting to a percentage.  The result rarely exceeds 2 or 3 percent!

The 2017 NGLEC is to be hosted by the Oswestry & North Shropshire MES over the weekend of 20th to 21st May. Please get a copy of your Application Form and additional details from their website here -- NGLEC Application Form 


The following links give reports (where available) of the events held over the years:

2019 *To be held at Ribble Valley Live Steamers

2018 *No competition

2017 Oswestry & North Shropshire  *Report awaited

2016 Sale MES        Preliminary Report                         [ YouTube Video ]

2015 Birmingham   *Report awaited from host Club       [ YouTube Video (1)        YouTube Video (2) ]

2014 Erewash Valley   *Report awaited from host Club  [ YouTube Video ]

2013 South Cheshire             [ YouTube Video (1)            YouTube Video (2) ]


2012 Southport                      [ YouTube Video (1)            YouTube Video (2)        YouTube Video (3) ]


2011 North Staffordshire        [ YouTube Video ]

2010 *No competition

2009 Erewash Valley


2008 Rochdale


2007 Oswestry


2006 Southport


2005 Wrexham